What is Marriage?

This is the questions my 8 year old asked me as I was tucking him into bed. If I am being completely honest, it stopped me in my tracks.

I told him it was hard to explain, to which he looked at me solemnly and said, “I think I will understand”. Cue the laughter. I snuggled up next to him in bed and tried my best to find the right words.

He understands that later this summer his Dad and I are having a wedding, he has seen the dress and is excited that he gets to carry the rings. How do you explain something so big and important in words?

I tried to tell him that we are having the wedding and he interrupted saying he understood the wedding he just was not sure what marriage meant. So I dug deep and thought: “What does marriage mean to ME?”

In my own words, as best I could, I explained that marriage was finding your somebody and that for the rest of your life you worked harder than you could ever imagine on keeping that somebody happy. You enjoyed working that hard on their happiness because seeing them happy is what makes you happy. He thought about this for a second and then asked me, “Well why Dad?”. So I told him it was not just his Dad, but him as well, that made me happy and I wanted to keep happy for the rest of my life.

Seemingly satisfied he gave me a kiss goodnight and rolled over to sleep. Now my mind was running.

The most innocent of questions gave me so much to think about. I am forever grateful for the fresh perspective E-man gives me on so many things I do not think twice about. While I am forever committed to this upcoming marriage I never stopped to think exactly WHAT it is to me (besides everything). Or to write it down.

What does marriage mean to you?

Always,
Amy

#marriagemondays

Leave a Reply

