Advice Your Father Gave You…

….That Stuck!!

I rest assured that I am not the only one who received a boat load of useful information while growing up and even some still to this day.

Probably the most prominent advice my father EVER gave me was this:

Don’t act stupid to attract boys or you will attract stupid boys”. 

I was probably 11 or 12 at the time and thinking okie dokie Daddy dearest, not even sure what that means but I will file it away for later!

Fast forward a few years to a twenty-something version of myself and I could not believe how many ignorant people were in the world. Not ignorant in the rude sense (even though there are plenty of those!) but ignorant in the choosing-to-not-be-informed sense.

I found myself becoming bored quickly and easily and chose to not pursue anything that did not mentally captivate me.

Until I met Ry of course 😉

I cannot imagine the poor people whose company I would have had to endure had I not been myself, proud of the fact I had read a book in the last 6 weeks.

Just goes to show behind the eye rolling I guess I always knew my Dad was right.

What are some pieces of advice your father (or parents) gave you that really stuck?

Always,
Amy

Leave a Reply

