It Just Works…

This is a phrase we have uttered often in our year+ together now. People always ask us why we are so happy and why we are so good together. Ry first answered those questions with, “I’m not sure, it just works!”.

We have been saying it for awhile now and one day I actually thought, “Well WHAT works?”. Our biggest success in our relationship has been our ability to not keep a scoreboard. I know a lot of people strive to do that and make a conscious effort but for us it just happened.

Oh he’s vacuuming (which he is obsessed with doing since purchasing a Dyson) so I will be unloading the dishwasher. I did 3 loads of laundry this afternoon? He switches the loads over and hangs my dress pants up to dry because he heard the machine stop. He is running late from work? I try to have kids home and settled from daycare with dinner at least started. He gives the kids a bath and puts them to bed so I can go get my nails done, I do the same on nights he wants to go play hockey. He needs

It is seamless and feels effortless. Yet it is so appreciated! We have often chalked up our success to having compatible love languages. (If you have not taken the test you can do it here: http://www.5lovelanguages.com/profile/) He loves to feel praised and I appreciate acts of service.

I find my laundry switched over? I’m in heaven. So when I notice he has taken the time to do it I make sure to thank him for doing it and I know that makes him happy to be praised (even if he is all that is man and doesn’t admit to his feelings haha).

If it just works and it makes me this happy who am I to question it? 🙂

Do you have little hacks or techniques you use to make your relationships healthier and function more smoothly?

Always,
Amy


Leave a comment