Review: Grand Sunset Princess

Hello all! It has been awhile and for good reason. I spent a wonderful week in the sun and stood beside my cousin as she married the love of her life. Our venue: The Grand Sunset Princess in Playa del Carmen, Mexico.

I have never done a review before so this should be a wonderful learning curve for all of us!

ceremony

Location:

Once we landed in Cancun it was about a 45 minute charter to the resort. I was okay with this because we were blessed with air conditioning and ice cold beers!

Room:

I shared a room with a friend and due to a booking miscommunication we ended up in a room with a king bed instead of 2 doubles. Good thing we both like to snuggle! The bed was good but the sheets definitely could have been softer (high maintenance am I right?). The bathroom was enormous! Definitely the best part of the room, it gave us ample space to get ready each and every day.

Food:

The buffet food was decent. It wasn’t the best food I had ever tasted but definitely wasn’t the worst. I had hoped there would be more authentic Mexican but it was very Americanized. The ala carte restaurants were amazing. We sampled the Swiss, Japanese, Italian and Mexican ones and were so happy with all of them.

Pools:

There was an assortment of pools (and swim up bars!) to choose from. Each had great music, lots of lounge chairs and sun and the bars had a good variety of liquors to choose from.

Beach:

The sand was absolutely beautiful! Everything was so well kept and the water was so clear and clean.

Family Appeal:

I sadly went solo on this trip but next time around I would definitely be comfortable bringing my little ones along. With all the pools, excursions and kids club activities available they would have had a blast! I guess my house husband also would have enjoyed himself 😉

Wedding:

Let me preface by saying my cousin is high strung by nature and the wedding coordinators did an absolutely amazing job of making her dream wedding come true with limited stress for her to bear. The backdrop for the ceremony was breathtaking as were the flower arrangements and her bouquet! If you are considering a destination wedding this resort is definitely a recommendation.

bri

I may edit and update this post as I remember more details about the trip!

Always,
Amy

 

PS. Our entire wedding booked through K Barnes Travel with TravelOnly. I would personally use her again she made all the details a breeze to handle. Check her out if you have any questions. http://www.kbarnestravel.com/

Leave a Reply

