New Beginnings

The anniversary of our first date this month had me thinking I should really be documenting the wonderful memories our family has been making in a unique way. Before I get too far ahead of myself I should take a few moments and give you some background information.

February of 2015 I began a very new and rewarding journey as a single mom. Paxton came into my life and gave me an entirely new sense of purpose. We had a wonderful little world and I thought that I could not be happier or experience more love than this little girl provided.

Fast forward a few months (9 to be exact) and I had met my match! Ryan initiated our conversation with the phrase: “Hey I’m a single dad! We should do coffee!”. I remember having an assortment of feelings course through me. Anxiety, excitement, trepidation, wonder….

Our first scheduled meeting ended up being postponed due to the fact I was in a hurry to head to class and I FORGOT entirely about the date we had scheduled. I felt absolutely rotten so I made up an excuse to try and save myself saying that I had to go in to class early as I would not make it to the coffee shop he had suggested before I was supposed to be there.

He handled it well and we continued on with our days until he suggested one Saturday that Paxton and I join him and his son at the indoor play park for a coffee. One extremely important thing you have to know about me is I LOVE a good nap. I had planned for one that Saturday but I could not let the opportunity pass me by to meet this extremely persistent (and handsome) guy go by. So after a quick primp, Paxton and I were off. I was met at the door by one of the most amazing smiles I had ever laid eyes on. The butterflies in my stomach couldn’t lie, I knew I was in trouble.

I remember heading home feeling very happy and content. My best friend met me at the door, berating me with questions. I answered them all honestly and told her “He is probably the nicest guy I have ever met, I wonder what’s wrong with him”.

Fast forward a few more dates, exchanging Christmas presents and meeting his family, I knew deep down I could not imagine my life any other way than with these 2 very special guys.

Sidebar: It turns out there is nothing wrong with him and he is in fact just that nice (haha).

The long and the short of it is, thinking back on this last year and how far we have made it as a family gives me such happiness and makes me realize how truly blessed our little blended family is.

Here is to the first date, first year and all the memories made! Life is already pretty awesome but I know that it can only get better.

Always,
Amy

Photo Credit: Kaley Hayward Photography: http://kaleyhayward.com/

Leave a Reply

